National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards for Dentists

The NSQHS Standards were developed by the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (ACSQHC) in 2011 to improve the quality of health service provision in Australia. The Standards provide a nationally consistent statement of the level of care consumers should be able to expect from health services to which the Standards are applicable.

The NSQHS Standards aim to protect the public from harm and improve the quality of health service provision.

NSQHS Standards for Dental Practices

Introductory Dental Practice Accreditation  is a voluntary, self-regulated scheme driven by the Australian Dental Association Inc. (ADA Inc.).  Participating dental practices are assessed against the first six NSQHS Standards applicable to dentistry:

  • Standard 1: Governance for Safety and Quality in Health Service Organisations
  • Standard 2: Partnering with Consumers
  • Standard 3: Preventing and Controlling Healthcare Associated Infections
  • Standard 4: Medication Safety
  • Standard 5: Patient Identification and Procedure Matching
  • Standard 6: Clinical Handover

QIP is approved by the ACSQHC as a provider of accreditation under the NSQHS Standards and is the exclusive independent accreditation provider for Introductory Dental Practice Accreditation.

Become accredited