The Victorian Early Childhood Intervention Standards 2016 (the ECI Standards) are owned and managed by the Victorian Government Department of Education and Training (DET). The ECI Standards support funded early childhood intervention providers to understand and meet the Victorian Government’s expectations in regard to the quality of service delivery for young children with a disability or developmental delay and their families.

The ECI Standards reflect the early intervention outcomes and are underpinned by the key principle of family-centered practice. They recognise that the foundation of effective early childhood intervention is based on national and international evidence-based research.

All service providers funded by the DET to deliver Early Childhood Intervention Services (ECIS) are required to meet the ECI Standards.

Certification against the ECI Standards involves an organisation undertaking a self-assessment against the framework followed by an on-site assessment conducted by qualified QIP Assessors.

QIP is one of a few select independent review bodies approved by DET to assess and provide certification to ECIS' against the ECI Standards and is committed to supporting providers throughout the certification process.

Pathway to the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS)

ECIS’ that have obtained the Victorian Approved NDIS Provider/Early Childhood Supports status are required to undergo a review from an approved independent review body within 18 months of being awarded this status, in order to continue to provide these services under the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS).

Overview of the ECI Standards

The ECI Standards consist of four service delivery Standards and one organisational performance Standard, highlighted below:

  • Standard 1: Family-centred practice: Families can expect to be involved in a respectful, collaborative working partnership with service providers.
  • Standard 2: Access and engagement: Children and families have access to services appropriate to their needs without being disadvantaged by their cultural, financial or geographic situation.
  • Standard 3: Outcomes for children and families: Service delivery focuses on functional outcomes for children and families that support the achievement of their goals.
  • Standard 4: Inclusion and participation: The inclusion and participation of children in everyday family and community life is promoted.
  • Standard 5: Organisational Performance:  Sound governance and management guides quality service delivery.

How QIP supports organisations

Dedicated and personalised support

QIP Client Liaison team - QIP has a team of professionally trained Client Liaison Officers on hand to answer any questions clients may have about accreditation. With expert knowledge of the Standards, evidence requirements and the self-assessment process, QIP’s Client Liaison Officers are dedicated to providing clients with on-going support throughout their accreditation cycle.

QIP staff smiling

QIP’s accreditation hub

The QIP accreditation hub is an online platform tailored to each client’s individual accreditation timelines and framework requirements.  It includes a personalised action plan, a resource library and a number of other features to support clients throughout their accreditation journey.

Access to AccreditationPro

QIP’s online self-assessment software, known as AccreditationPro, streamlines accreditation preparation by helping clients determine their organisation’s compliance with an applicable set of Standards.

Person at laptop on AccreditationPro

Access to online resources and education

QIP’s online Education and Resource Library, known as QbAY, provides clients with access to a range of practical, informative and customisable resources to support organisations in complying with the relevant industry Standards.

Regular news and e-newsletters

Stay up-to-date with industry and organisational news, helpful tips and your standards information with QIP communications including periodical e-newsletters advising of any changes to processes, systems, standards or evidence requirements are released.

Highly trained assessment teams

QIP’s Assessors are highly trained and qualified peer assessors who work across the Australian health, community and human services sectors. Our team will share their knowledge and support organisations through the accreditation assessment.

Image of AGPAL Surveyors

Celebrating the achievement of accreditation

Achieving QIP accreditation takes dedication, team work and a commitment to continuous quality improvement. When organisations achieve their accredited, certificated or verified status, they are provided with their own 'Promotional Toolkit' filled with a number of materials to celebrate and promote this achievement. The QIP Accredited Symbol is one way consumers and local community can be reassured that an organisation has been recognised for their commitment to delivering a safe and quality-focused service.

Image of QIP Accredited Symbol

Become part of our online community

Join us on social media to celebrate organisation achievements made within the health, community and human services sectors and to be kept up-to-date with the latest industry news and events, including QIP and AGPAL updates.

LinkedIn IconTwitter IconFacebook Icon

Interested in registering for certification against the
ECI Standards or learning more about the requirements?