National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards

The National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards are owned by the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (ACSQHC). The Standards are now compulsory for many health organisations.

QIP is one of a few select organisations approved by the ACSQHC to provide NSQHS Standards accreditation.

The NSQHS Standards aim to:

  • Protect the public from harm
  • Improve the quality of health service provision
  • Provide a quality assurance mechanism that tests whether relevant systems are in place
  • Ensure that minimum standards of safety and quality are met, and
  • Provide a quality improvement mechanism that allows health services to realise aspirational or developmental goals.

The second edition of the NSQHS Standards was endorsed by Health Ministers in June 2017, and released in November 2017. Assessment to the second edition will commence from 1 January 2019. Health service organisations will be informed of the transition arrangements well in advance of implementation.

People Bridge

View the NSQHS Standards (first edition)

The ten NSQHS Standards provide a nationally consistent statement about the level of care consumers can expect from health services. The Standards provide evidence-based improvement strategies and include:

  1. Governance for safety and quality in health service organisations
  2. Partnering with consumers
  3. Preventing and controlling healthcare associated infections
  4. Medication safety
  5. Patient identification and procedure matching
  6. Clinical handover
  7. Blood and blood products
  8. Preventing and managing pressure injuries
  9. Recognising and responding to clinical deterioration in acute health care, and
  10. Preventing falls and harm from falls.
The NSQHS Standards are designed to deliver safe and high quality care.

Australian Health Service Safety and Quality Accreditation (AHSSQA) Scheme

The ACSQHC has established an accreditation program, the Australian Health Service Safety and Quality Accreditation (AHSSQA) Scheme. Accreditation under the scheme is mandatory for licenced hospitals and day procedure services.

QIP and NSQHS accreditation

QIP currently provides NSQHS accreditation for:

  • Private and public dental practices
  • Day procedure services
  • Tertiary hospital
  • Cosmetic medical practices
  • Podiatry practices
  • Audiology practices
  • Optometry practices, and
  • Other health services seeking accreditation under the NSQHS Standards on a voluntary basis.

Why choose QIP?

QIP can best support your organisation the accreditation journey and ensure accreditation is a positive experience by providing:

  • A streamlined and web-based approach that reduces the time and effort to achieve accreditation
  • A dedicated Client Liaison Officer
  • Access to a wide range of educational resources, at no additional cost
  • A web-based self-assessment tool – AccreditationPro, and
  • Cost-effective accreditation against the NSQHS Standards.

QIP accreditation meets the State and Territory jurisdictional requirements for accreditation related to licensing of day procedure units and tertiary hospitals, and  the accreditation requirements of private health funds.

What we do


Fee information

When choosing an accreditation provider for the NSQHS Standards, it’s important to understand exactly how much accreditation will cost and what accreditation support is included.

QIP’s fees are clearly articulated ensuring that you know exactly how much accreditation will cost. Fees are payable only once during the relevant accreditation cycle. We do not charge:

  • Any membership or application fees
  • Hourly fees or additional costs, or
  • Annual fees.

Your organisation is invited to contact us for a customised quote to be accredited against the NSQHS Standards.