The Australian Retirement Village Accreditation Scheme (ARVAS) is the exclusive accreditation scheme for retirement village and seniors housing operators. ARVAS is co-owned by two organisations that represent the owners and operators of retirement villages and seniors housing: Property Council of Australia and Leading Age Services Australia (LASA).

ARVAS has replaced two previous industry schemes, Lifemark and International Retirement Community Accreditation Scheme (IRCAS). As part of ARVAS' development, an entirely new set of national standards has been devised, to reflect the various elements of a resident’s experience within a retirement village and evolving service offerings within villages.

The ARVAS Standards are designed to work directly with the Retirement Living Code of Conduct, which comes into full effect from 1 January 2020 and is the sector’s self-assessment tool. Any organisation wishing to apply for accreditation under ARVAS must be an active subscriber to the Retirement Living Code of Conduct.

Download the ARVAS Standards here.

The ARVAS Standards

The nationally applicable ARVAS Standards comprise of seven quality areas:

  • Standard 1 – Community Management The community is managed efficiently and effectively; the manager is a positive and proactive leader of the team with a strong customer service orientation.
  • Standard 2 – Human Resource Management - Employment management practices ensure that the quality and quantity of staff are sufficient to meet operational needs.
  • Standard 3 – Resident Entry and Exit - Processes for managing resident entry and exit are effective and focus on a positive resident experience.
  • Standard 4 – Resident Engagement and Feedback - Engages residents effectively.
  • Standard 5 – Community Environment, Services and Facilities- The environment, service and facilities are managed in accordance with contractual obligations and managed effectively.
  • Standard 6 – Safety and Security - Processes for managing safety and security are effective.
  • Standard 7 – Resident Care (where applicable) - Residents receive safe, high quality care consistent with their needs and preferences.

Each standard is comprised of criteria; each criterion is comprised of indicators and the Standards are supported by explanatory notes for practical application.

Assessment is undertaken at indicator level; however, ratings are applied at the level of the indicators, criterion and standards. For accreditation against the ARVAS Standards, there will be two ratings, ‘met’ and ‘not met’ for each indicator.

Interested in becoming accredited against the ARVAS Standards with QIP?

How QIP supports organisations

Dedicated and personalised support

QIP Client Liaison team - QIP has a team of professionally trained Client Liaison Officers on hand to answer any questions clients may have about accreditation. With expert knowledge of the Standards, evidence requirements and the self-assessment process, QIP’s Client Liaison Officers are dedicated to providing clients with on-going support throughout their accreditation cycle.

Featured image of QIP staff

QIP’s accreditation hub

The QIP accreditation hub is an online platform tailored to each client’s individual accreditation timelines and framework requirements.  It includes a personalised action plan, a resource library and a number of other features to support clients throughout their accreditation journey.

Access to AccreditationPro

QIP’s online self-assessment software, known as AccreditationPro, streamlines accreditation preparation by helping clients determine their organisation’s compliance with an applicable set of Standards.

Person at laptop on AccreditationPro

Access to online resources and education

QIP’s online Education and Resource Library, provides clients with access to a range of practical, informative and customisable resources to support organisations in complying with the relevant industry Standards.

Regular news and e-newsletters

Stay up-to-date with industry and organisational news, helpful tips and your standards information with QIP communications including periodical e-newsletters advising of any changes to processes, systems, standards or evidence requirements are released.

Highly trained assessment teams

QIP’s Assessors are highly trained and qualified peer assessors who work across the Australian health, community and human services sectors. Our team will share their knowledge and support organisations through the accreditation assessment.

Image of AGPAL Surveyors

Celebrating the achievement of accreditation

Achieving QIP accreditation takes dedication, team work and a commitment to continuous quality improvement. When organisations achieve their accredited, certificated or verified status, they are provided with their own 'Promotional Toolkit' filled with a number of materials to celebrate and promote this achievement. The QIP Accredited Symbol is one way consumers and local community can be reassured that an organisation has been recognised for their commitment to delivering a safe and quality-focused service.

Image of QIP Accredited Symbol

Become part of our online community

Join us on social media to celebrate organisation achievements made within the health, community and human services sectors and to be kept up-to-date with the latest industry news and events, including QIP and AGPAL updates.

LinkedIn IconTwitter IconFacebook Icon