Australian Service Excellence Standards (ASES)

Australian Service Excellence Standards (ASES)

Supporting the community and non-government services sectors excel

The Australian Service Excellence Standards (ASES) is in its third edition (version 5) and is managed by the Government of South Australia Department of Human Services (DHS). The ASES certification program is aimed at supporting community and non-government organisations (NGOs) in the community services sector and is particularly relevant for small and medium-sized community service organisations. The Standards assist community service organisations to effectively manage resources, gain a better understanding of consumer needs, and to improve accountability and reporting.

The ASES is based on the following organisational principles:

  • Consumer and outcome focused
  • Clear direction with accountability
  • Continuous learning and innovation
  • Valuing people and diversity
  • Collaborative work practices
  • Evidence-based decision making, and
  • Social, environmental and ethical responsibility.

QIP has extensive experience assessing a range of community organisations and NGOs and is a recognised provider of ASES certification by the Department of Human Services (DHS). Our personalised support and practical resources make the ASES certification experience a positive and quality focused one.

ASES Badges_2021_Approved Assessor badge

Download QIP's ASES brochure here

Pathways to certification

Two pathways are available to achieve QIP certification against ASES — Certificate and Award level. Both pathways support community services organisations to strive towards continuous improvement in quality service delivery.

Certificate Level

ASES Certificate Level encourages organisations to start formalising the way they plan, implement and monitor continuous improvement activities.

Certificate level includes three key areas:

  • Management
  • People, partnerships and communication, and
  • Service provision.

Award Level

ASES Award Level involves the systematic implementation of the organisation’s strategic agenda and a demonstrated commitment towards continuous learning and sustainable improvement. Award level builds on the organisation’s achieved Certificate level and incorporates three additional aspects:

  • Leadership
  • Improvement, and
  • Results.

ASES review cycles

ASES for community and NGO organisations in South Australia

For community organisations located in South Australia, there is a seven-step certification process:

  1. Information provision and sign up
  2. Register with DHS
  3. Undertake self-assessment with ASES workbooks
  4. Register with QIP, update self-assessment in AccreditationPro
  5. QIP Assessor completes the external assessment and report
  6. Develop a quality action plan, and
  7. Certification decision is made.

ASES – a nation-wide certification program

The ASES Standards are applicable to most community organisations nationally; however, the process differs slightly to other national standards and revolves around the following four steps:

  1. Contract with QIP
  2. Complete self-assessment with QIP via AccreditationPro
  3. A QIP Assessor completes the external assessment and report, and
  4. Certification decision is made.

ASES for the NSW specialised homelessness services program

From 30 June 2024, all specialist homelessness service (SHS) providers contracted to deliver programs under the New South Wales Department of Communities and Justice (DCJ) will be required to be accredited to the ASES Certificate Level (or equivalent) in order to continue to receive DCJ funding for future contracts.

The Certificate Level assesses fundamental business practices and client services to ensure sound and efficient operations and risk management.

Organisations can opt to attain the ASES Award Level, which builds on the Certificate Level to also demonstrate excellence and continuous quality improvement.

QIP has client support personnel and sector-experienced assessors based in NSW. We are ready to help DCJ-funder homelessness service providers meet the government-mandated accreditation requirements by 30 June 2024.

QIP joins with DCJ to encourage providers to start the process now to ensure the accreditation deadline of 30 June 2024 is achieved. For more information or to register to commence the process, visit our Accreditation requirements for specialist homelessness services in NSW page or phone 1300 888 329.

The DCJ has made a commitment to subsidise the accreditation costs for providers with less than $5m in total annual revenue to gain accreditation for the first time. Funding of $16,000 per organisation is now available through the ASES Support Grant. More information about the grant can be found on the NSW Government Department of Communities and Justice website.


How QIP supports organisations

Tailored support

QIP has trained QIP Client Liaison Teams on hand to answer any questions clients may have about their accreditation, certification or verification. With expert knowledge of each of the standards or frameworks, evidence requirements and the self-assessment process, QIP’s Client Liaison Teams provide clients with on-going advice throughout their cycle.

Featured image of QIP staff

QIP’s accreditation hub

The QIP accreditation hub is an online platform tailored to each client’s individual accreditation timelines and framework requirements. It includes a personalised action plan, a resource library and a number of other features to support clients throughout their accreditation journey.

Access to AccreditationPro

QIP’s online self-assessment software, known as AccreditationPro, streamlines accreditation preparation by helping clients determine their organisation’s compliance with an applicable set of Standards.

Person at laptop on AccreditationPro

Access to online resources and education

QIP’s online Education and Resource Library, provides clients with access to a range of practical, informative and customisable resources to support organisations in complying with the relevant industry Standards.

Regular news and e-newsletters

Stay up-to-date with industry and organisational news, helpful tips and your standards information with QIP communications including periodical e-newsletters advising of any changes to processes, systems, standards or evidence requirements are released.

Highly trained assessment teams

QIP’s Assessors are highly trained and qualified peer assessors who work across the Australian health, community and human services sectors. Our team will share their knowledge and support organisations through the accreditation assessment.

Image of AGPAL Surveyors

Celebrating the achievement of accreditation

Achieving QIP accreditation takes dedication, team work and a commitment to continuous quality improvement. When organisations achieve their accredited, certificated or verified status, they are provided with their own 'Promotional Toolkit' filled with a number of materials to celebrate and promote this achievement.

The QIP Accredited Symbol is one way consumers and local community can be reassured that an organisation has been recognised for their commitment to delivering a safe and quality-focused service.

Image of QIP Accredited Symbol

Become part of our online community

Join us on social media to celebrate organisation achievements made within the health, community and human services sectors and to be kept up-to-date with the latest industry news and events, including QIP and AGPAL updates.

LinkedIn IconTwitter IconFacebook Icon

Contact QIP about ASES accreditation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.